Roasting Chicken on a Grill – Hot Weather Cooking

August is hot in N. Dakota and I sure don’t want to turn the oven on. I’m loving trying new roasting/baking techniques on my little (I mean little) grill – one continuous burner, which makes grilling and barbecuing very difficult. With no way to have indirect heat, I had to be inventive.
Before we left Port Angeles I bought fire bricks to use on the grill to raise whatever I’m cooking. I wanted roasted chicken to use for a number of dishes in the next few days, so here’s an easy way to do this on a grill – on the road or at home.
Cut the backbone from the chicken; turn over and smash the breastbone so it will lay flat. Turn breast side down again and rub with olive oil and sprinkle with seasoning of your choice (I have a house seasoning I use for almost everything – 2 parts Kosher salt to 1 part each: white pepper & granulated garlic.)Turn chicken back over breast up and repeat seasoning under the skin and the outside.

???????????????????????????????

Place the chicken on a roasting pan that will fit inside your grill with the lid closed, on top of the fire bricks.

Aug 13 Chix on grill
Close lid and roast until desired temperature is reached (165°F for white meat/175°F for thigh meat) My grill was a constant 400°F and the chicken, which weighed 5 lbs. was done after 1 hour 25 minutes.
I keep all the chicken jus goodness to flavor rice, couscous, or any grains I’m cooking.

And, let me tell you, the skin was as lusciously crisp as it is roasted in the oven. And our RV is cool!
???????????????????????????????

Leave a Reply

