Baking and Roasting on the Grill

One of the problems for me on the road is not having access to my big 4-burner grill. On this grill I can do anything my little heart desires. But, alas, in the trailer set-up, I only have as large a grill as my hunky husband can cart around from move to move.
For a long time I was very limited.  I have tried probably 5 or 6 different configurations of burners – number of and the placement of. This last one we purchased has done the best job so far for heating hot enough to be able to grill pizzas, one of my favorites!
???????????????????????????????Weber 1-Burner Q1000 Gas Grill

So, problem solved for grilling, but with 1 continuous burner, and no way to do indirect  barbecuing, I was still complaining. Now, I have overcome this hurdle, also! I picked up two fire bricks to put on the grill and lay a cake rack or sheet pan between them. Now, I can have my dishes/veggies/meat cooking in an indirect method. And, best of all, I can be outside and not heat up the trailer/RV using the inside oven on summer days.
???????????????????????????????The lid closes and I have an oven. To help regulate the temperature, I prop the lid open a little and I am good to go. Some of the dishes I’ve been able to do and how easy it is –

Garlic roasted lobster and prawns – toss seafood with minced garlic and olive oil on a foil lined baking sheet (a 1/4 sheet pan – ~8”X12”); place the sheet pan on the cooking rack on resting on the bricks.  Turn the seafood over half way thru cooking time and you have roasted seafood which you can add to any dish, or just grab bread rounds and forks and have a fast appetizer. The ‘goop’ from the seafood is wonderful to dunk bread in.
???????????????????????????????Temperatures and times I use for the shrimp: keep the grill about 400°F and roast for 3-4 minutes (depending on size); turn over and continue roasting another 3 minutes. Please trust me, this time will cook the shrimp/prawns beautifully.
~ ~ ~ ~ ~
Roasted Asparagus and cod portions-
July 18 Prepping Cod AsparagusJuly 18 Rstd. Cod asparagusToss asparagus spears and portioned pieces of cod (or other fish) with olive oil and seasonings; lay the asparagus on a 1/4 sheet pan lined with foil and top with the portioned fish. Lay the sheet pan on the cake rack over the bricks. Roast until fish is 140°F. and the asparagus us just fork tender.
~ ~ ~ ~ ~
Twice baked sweet potatoes. Notice these were baked in a glass casserole. I wrap the outside with foil before setting it on the cake rack over the bricks and it works fine.
June 20 Twice Baked Swt. Tatoes 2Prepare the potatoes early in the day and bake them outside about 30-45 minutes before dinner.
~ ~ ~ ~ ~
Tortilla Pizza – oil both sides of a tortilla (I like to use the large wrap size to serve the 2 of us), lay on a sheet pan; top with goodies of your choice and place the sheet pan on the baking rack on the bricks.
Spinach, Ricotta and Salchichon Tortilla Pizza Feb. 23And, of course regular pizzas –
July 23 Buffalo Chix Pzza grilling Surprise, Surprise!! Today I found out I can bake cookies on my grill, too!! How great is that! I made a batch of Pumpkin Chip Cookies and gave it a try. The first ones were a little dark, and I’ll have to watch them a little closer than when using the oven.
??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????I’ll end this post with the recipe for the cookies – they are easy and fast to put together and so nice to have around to munch on.

Pumpkin Chip Cookies

1/2 cup butter, melted
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
1 cup conned pumpkin
2 1/2 cups flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg
1 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup nuts

1. Cream butter & sugar. Add egg and vanilla and mix well.
2. Add pumpkin
3. Add dry ingredients.
4. Add nuts and chips and stir well.
5. Drop by tsp. o cookie sheet.
6. Bake 350° 15 minutes.
Source: Cookie Indulgence: 150 Easy Cookie Recipes – ebook

I’ll add ideas for roasting and  baking on the grill as I go along and test a few things. Maybe next – bread. I’ve done it on my big grill, but not using this method with a small one burner…we shall see.

To be continued…………………….

Leave a Reply

