Lemon Cheesecake Ice Cream

This was such a spectacular result it deserves a blog entry of its own!

At the Walker, MN farmers market a few days ago a vendor was selling pkg. dips – desert and savory. One caught my eye, Lemon Cheesecake Cheeseball & Desert Mix and just from the picture, I bought it with no idea what I’d do with it.
http://www.diphq.com/p-829-wind-willow-lemon-cheesecake-cheeseball-dessert-mix.aspx

Before I got home, I knew what I was going to do. Being in the travel trailer with very little room in the freezer, I have never been able to make ice cream. But, with light bulbs exploding in my mind, I grabbed my little hunk of leftover cream cheese while Roy hit the road for the nearest Dairy Queen.

Mixed up 1/2 the pkg. of mix with the softened cream cheese and when Roy walked in the door, I added the pint of soft ice cream to the mix; froze it and waited very impatiently for it to harden enough to dig in.
???????????????????????????????

I haven’t been so impressed with a desert for a long time for a few reasons –

  • Almost every town we hit has a Dairy Queen and a pint is only $1.99.
  • My freezer won’t hold more than that amount
  • Just think of all the flavors to add to the ice cream
  • And, Dairy Queen is lower fat than regular ice creamWhat a decision as to what flavor next….Huckleberry, Chokecherry, CHOCOLATE!

    To me, this is a win win situation – and the same day one of the wines we picked up from Forestedge Winery, also in Walker, MN – Black Currant, was wonderful with the ice cream.

Leave a Reply

