Busy Day on the Farm

I’m trying my darndest to stay within the confines of one upright freezer, but let me tell you it is so difficult. Yesterday, I used the last of my frozen roasted poblanos – my roasted red bell peppers I ran out of a number of days ago. So today –

I got busy and HAPPINESS IS – 3 trays of goodies in the freezer.
May 20 Roasted Poblanos
May 20 Roasted Red Peppers

And since I was going to be in the kitchen most of the morning anyway, I made bread from a recipe I recently found as I continue my ongoing project of downsizing the amount of recipes I have which I’m going to ‘MAKE ONE DAY.’ This recipe is from an old Fleischmann’s Yeast advertisement and I first made it Apr. 4, 1981 and again in 1995. It’s been buried since then. I remember loving it and especially toasted.
May 20 English Muffin Bread
It’s not the prettiest bread I’ve ever made, but oh so tasty! And one of the easiest to put together.
English Muffin Loaf

2 pkgs. Fleischmann’s Active Dry Yeast (4 1/2 tsps.)
6 cups all purpose flour
1 T. sugar
2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. baking soda
2 cups milk
1/2 cup water
Cornmeal

Combine 3 cups flour, yeast, sugar, salt and soda. Heat liquids until very warm (120°-130°F.) Add to dry mixture; beat well. Stir in rest of flour to make a stiff batter. Spoon into two 8 1/2 X 4 1/2-inch pans that have been greased and sprinkled with cornmeal. Sprinkle tops with cornmeal. Cover, let rise in warm place for 45 minutes. Bake at 400° for 25 minutes. Remove from pans immediately and cool.

How easy can a bread recipe be?? You’ll notice the ‘oops’ in the picture of one of the loaves. It overran its pan, but this turned out to be a very good ooops – I cut off the long piece (seen in picture) and we had it as a ‘cracker’ with soup later. I love it when screw-ups turn out well.

Time to put the feet up on the deck railing and take advantage of the spurt of sunshine we’re having, with a glass of wine. I raise my glass to you all and happy cooking.
wine

 

Leave a Reply

